International Transport Forum

Innovationen: Die ITF

Das International Transport Forum

Das International Transport Forum ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation innerhalb der OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development)-System. Es fungiert als eine Denkfabrik für die globale Transport-politischen Themen und organisiert eine jährliche Gipfeltreffen der Verkehrsminister. Vor 2007 existierte das International Transport Forum über 50 Jahren der Europäischen Konferenz der Verkehrsminister (CEMT; Französisch: Conférence européenne des ministres des Transports, CEMT). [1]

Das International Transport Forum bringt 54 Drittländern [2] mit dem Ziel, die globale Verkehrspolitik voranzutreiben und sicherzustellen, dass es zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung, Wohlstand, soziale Eingliederung und den Schutz des menschlichen Lebens und des Wohlbefindens beitragen fort. Es funktioniert, um den Austausch von Informationen weltweit zu erleichtern und die Kapazitäten für die Entscheidungsfindung in den Mitgliedsstaaten zu verbessern.

In seinem Think Tank Rolle, bietet das International Transport Forum Politik und die globale Verkehrsgemeinschaft mit evidenzbasierten Erkenntnisse über die Verkehrspolitik issues [3]. Seine Arbeit wird durch ökonomische Forschung untermauert, die Erfassung von Statistiken [4] und Policy-Analyse durchgeführt durch seine in-house Research Centre, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit Forschern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung.

Die Forschungsstelle Arbeitsprogramm umfasst Fokus auf ökologische Nachhaltigkeit, Verkehrssicherheit, Wirtschaftlichkeit, Logistik, Staus und Infrastruktur, unter anderem Themen. Das Forschungszentrum unterhält die International Road Traffic und Accident Database (IRTAD), eine umfassende Datenbank mit Statistiken in Bezug auf die Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr. [5]

Jedes Jahr bringt das jährliche Gipfeltreffen der International Transport Forum Minister aus Mitgliedsländern in Leipzig, Deutschland, um einen bestimmten, Transport-verwandtes Thema mit Führungskräften aus Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft zu diskutieren.

Letzten Gipfeltreffen haben on Climate Change (2008, Vorsitz Finnland), Globalisierung (2009, Vorsitz Türkei), Innovation (2010, Vorsitz Kanada), Transport for Society (2011, Vorsitz Spanien) und Seamless Transport (2012, Vorsitz Japan) konzentriert.

Die 2013 Summit on Funding Verkehr, unter dem Vorsitz von Norwegen, wird auf 22-24 Mai 2013 in Leipzig, Deutschland, gehalten werden.

Die International Transport Forum Sekretariat bei der OECD-Zentrale in Paris, Frankreich. Auf der Ministerkonferenz Sitzung des International Transport Forum auf 3 Mai 2012 wählte Verkehrsminister José Viegas (Portugal) als Generalsekretär. Mr. Viegas trat sein Amt am 13 August 2012.

International Transport Forum

Innovations: The ITF

The International Transport Forum

The International Transport Forum is an inter-governmental organisation within the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) system. It acts as a think tank for global transport policy issues and organises an annual summit of transport ministers. Before 2007, the International Transport Forum existed for over 50 years as the European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT; French: Conférence européenne des ministres des Transports, CEMT).[1]

The International Transport Forum brings together 54 member countries[2] with the aim to advance the global transport policy agenda, and ensure that it continues to contribute to sustainable development, prosperity, social inclusion and the protection of human life and well-being. It works to facilitate the exchange of information internationally and to improve the capacity for decision making in member countries.

In its Think Tank role, the International Transport Forum provides policy makers and the global transport community with evidence-based insights on transport policy issues [3]. Its work is underpinned by economic research, statistics collection[4] and policy analysis carried out by its in-house Research Centre, often in collaboration with researchers from academia, business and government.

The Research Centre’s programme of work includes focus on environmental sustainability, road safety, efficiency, logistics, traffic congestion and infrastructure, among other themes. The Research Centre maintains the International Road Traffic and Accident Database (IRTAD), a comprehensive database of statistics related to road safety.[5]

Every year, the Annual Summit of the International Transport Forum brings together ministers from member countries in Leipzig, Germany, to debate a specific, transport-related theme with leaders from industry, civil society and the research community.

Past Summits have focused on Climate Change (2008, Presidency Finland), Globalisation (2009, Presidency Turkey), Innovation (2010, Presidency Canada), Transport for Society (2011, Presidency Spain) and Seamless Transport (2012, Presidency Japan).

The 2013 Summit on Funding Transport, under the presidency of Norway, will be held on 22-24 May 2013 in Leipzig, Germany.

The International Transport Forum’s Secretariat is based at the OECD’s headquarters in Paris, France. At the ministerial session of the International Transport Forum on 3 May 2012, transport ministers elected Mr. José Viegas (Portugal) as Secretary-General. Mr. Viegas took office on 13 August 2012.