Social Philanthropy

Social Responsibility: Soziale Philanthropy

Social Philanthropy

A New Way of Giving / Wohnen

Angesichts dessen, was scheint eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, unsere massiv disruptive Technologie auf dem Weltmarkt zu bringen, haben wir beschlossen, für ebenso einzigartige Möglichkeiten, um das Unternehmen aufzubauen suchen. Teilweise inspiriert durch die dramatischen Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen von Walmart zu nutzen, ihrer globalen Macht in eine bessere Welt hoffen wir, Anzug durch die Zusammenarbeit mit gleichgesinnten philanthropischen Organisationen wie der Clinton Global Initiative, Warren Buffett "Ausgliederung Pledge", Forbes folgen 400 Summit On Philanthropy, Singularity University, etc.

Die folgenden Auszüge aus ihren jeweiligen Websites:

Clinton Global Initiative

Clinton Global Initiative

Die Mission der Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) ist es, Ideen in die Tat umzusetzen.

Gegründet im 2005 von Präsident Bill Clinton, beruft der Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) weltweit führend zu erstellen und realisieren innovative Lösungen für die weltweit drängendsten Herausforderungen. CGI Jahrestagungen haben zusammen mehr als 150 Staatsoberhäupter, 20 Nobelpreisträger, und Hunderte von führenden CEOs, Köpfe von Stiftungen und NGOs, großen Philanthropen und Vertreter der Medien gebracht. Bis heute CGI-Mitglieder haben mehr als 2,300 Verpflichtungen, die das Leben von über 400 Millionen Menschen verbessert werden können, mehr als 180 Ländern. Wenn voll finanziert und umgesetzt werden diese Verpflichtungen auf mehr als $ 73.1 Milliarden geschätzt werden.

Die CGI-Jahrestagung findet jeweils September in New York City. CGI auch tagt CGI America, eine Tagung über die wirtschaftliche Erholung und die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen in den Vereinigten Staaten und CGI University (CGI U), die eine jährliche Treffen für Studierende und Graduierte, die Entwicklung von Verpflichtungen in ihren Gemeinden und auf der ganzen Welt beherbergt.

Warren Buffet The Giving Pledge

Warren Buffett "The Giving Pledge"

Über

The Giving Pledge ist ein Versuch, die reichsten Einzelpersonen und Familien in Amerika einzuladen, geben den Großteil ihres Reichtums zu den philanthropischen Ursachen und karitative Organisationen ihrer Wahl entweder zu Lebzeiten oder nach ihrem Tod zu begehen.

Jede Person, die zu verpfänden entscheidet, wird diese Aussage öffentlich zu machen, zusammen mit einem Brief erklären ihre Entscheidung zu verpfänden. Bei einer jährlichen Veranstaltung, werden diejenigen, die das Versprechen nehmen kommen zusammen, um Ideen auszutauschen und voneinander zu lernen.

Das Versprechen ist eine moralische Verpflichtung zu geben, nicht ein rechtsgültiger Vertrag. Dabei kommt es zu bündeln Geld oder Abstützen eines bestimmten Satzes von Ursachen oder Organisationen.

Während der Giving Pledge ist speziell auf Milliardäre konzentriert, nimmt die Idee seine Inspiration von den Bemühungen in der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, die ermutigen und zu erkennen Geber aller finanziellen Mittel und Hintergründe. Wir werden am Beispiel von Millionen von Amerikanern, die großzügig geben (und oft unter großen persönlichen Opfern), um die Welt zu einem besseren Ort gesetzt inspiriert.

Forbes 400 Gipfel für Philanthropie

Forbes 400 Summit On Philanthropy

Genau 30 Jahren Malcolm Forbes 'beständigsten Idee-a-Ranking der reichsten Menschen in Amerika zum Tragen kamen. Die Forbes 400 bewiesen ein Phänomen sobald es gestartet. Drei Jahrzehnte später ist es eine amerikanische Ikone. Jeder der 400 Geschichten zeugt von der American Dream. Bei Messung zusammen, sie dienen als eine jährliche Marker für die Dynamik des freien Unternehmertums.

Aus diesem 30th Jubiläumsausgabe haben wir beschlossen, die Messlatte höher: Statt nur versammeln auf der gedruckten Seite, was ist, wenn wir tatsächlich rief die 400 zusammen zu kommen in Person? Was, wenn nämlich die finanziell erfolgreichsten Menschen in Amerika, die Nutzung ihrer Ressourcen und die ergebnisorientierte Denkweise, die, dass der Erfolg geschaffen, versucht der weltweit schwierigsten Probleme zu lösen? Buchstäblich die Welt verändern?

So Juni 26, 161 Milliardäre und Beinahe-Milliardäre an der New York Public Library für The Forbes 400 Summit on Philanthropy, der größte aller Zeiten Treffen dieser Art versammelt. Oprah Winfrey startete den Tag und Warren Buffett und Bill Gates gab auch Keynotes. Melinda Gates, Diane Von Furstenberg und Jacqueline Novogratz titelte ein Panel zu geben, um Frauen und Mädchen. Marc Andreessen, Marc Benioff und Jim Breyer sprach über tech-driven Metriken zur philanthropischen Wirksamkeit zu verbessern. Jon Bon Jovi plauderte mit Steve Forbes über Ruhm als eine Kraft des Guten. (Und er endete die Veranstaltung mit einem once-in-a-lifetime Ukulele Duett für Nächstenliebe mit Buffett.)

Der Höhepunkt des Tages war eine Gesprächsrunde mit sechs all-time großen Philanthropen - Warren Buffett, Bill und Melinda Gates, Steve Case, David Rubenstein und Leon Black - wer haben gemeinsam verpfändet oder über $ 100 Milliarden an wohltätige (mit dem schwersten Hub aus den ersten drei, die auch federführend The Giving Pledge). Mit nur das kleinste Antippen von yours truly, sofern diese historische Sextett eine der großen Grundierungen auf, wie man wieder effektiv zu geben - und warum es wichtig ist.

Singularity University

Singularity University

Unsere Geschichte

Singularity University wurde gemeinsam von Dr. Peter H. Diamandis und Dr. Ray Kurzweil gegründet. Das Konzept einer neuen Universität, nutzen die Macht des exponentiellen Technologien der Menschheit großen Herausforderungen lösen könnte, indem Diamandis wurde Kurzweil und International Space University Kollegen Dr. Robert D. Richards und Michael Simpson im April 2007 vorgeschlagen. Eine explorative Treffen wurde bei der NASA Research Park, Moffett Field im November 2007 im September 2008 durch eine Gründungsversammlung auch bei NAS gehostet, gefolgt gehalten.

Unsere Aufgabe

Eine Reihe von exponentiell wachsenden Technologien massiv erhöhen menschliche Fähigkeit und grundlegend umzugestalten unsere Zukunft. Dies rechtfertigt die Schaffung einer akademischen Institution, deren Studenten und Dozenten werden diese Technologien zu studieren, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf die Wechselwirkungen zwischen verschiedenen Technologien. Unsere Mission ist es zu montieren, zu erziehen und zu inspirieren eine neue Generation von Führern, die zu verstehen und zu nutzen exponentiell fortschreitenden Technologien der Menschheit zu großen Herausforderungen streben.

Die Universität

Mit der Unterstützung einer breiten Palette von Spezialisten aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik schafft Singularity University ein globales Netzwerk von gleichgesinnten Unternehmern, Technologen und junge Führungskräfte in Erstellung eines Fahrplans für die Entwicklung dieser bahnbrechenden Technologien führen zu beteiligen. SU hilft schaffen Lösungen und Anwendungen dieser Technologien zum Nutzen der Menschheit durch seine Graduate Studies und Executive Programs. SU ist bei der NASA Research Park Campus im Herzen des Silicon Valley.

Singularity University

Walmart Sustainability Index

The Secret Life

Wie viel wissen Sie über das, was hinter einem Produkt das Label wissen? Walmart prüft den Lebenszyklus von Produkten, um Wege zu natürlichen Ressourcen zu schonen finden.

Dazu suchen Sie in der Lieferkette als Ganzes, können wir Wege finden, um Marken, Produkte nachhaltiger - from farm to Regal. Dies ist nur eine von vielen Geschichten.

Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Standard für Produkte

Da 2009 wir, zusammen mit einigen unserer größten Konkurrenten haben neben The Sustainability Consortium (TSC) zur Messung und Reporting-Systeme für die Produktentwicklung Nachhaltigkeit zu entwickeln gearbeitet. Soll einen globalen Retail-Standard für die 21st Jahrhunderts zu etablieren, wird dieses Tool helfen: • Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit der Produkte unserer Kunden lieben • Integration von Nachhaltigkeit in das Kerngeschäft • Kosten reduzieren, die Produktqualität zu verbessern und eine effizientere Lieferkette • stärken das Vertrauen der Kunden in Walmart und die Marken, die wir von den führenden der Branche in der Produktentwicklung Transparenz.

TSC liefert Forschung, Metriken und Reporting-Systeme, die uns beauftragen unseren Lieferanten und ein besseres Verständnis der Produkte, die wir verkaufen, zu helfen. Mit der Unterstützung von führenden Einzelhändlern, Behörden und Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt, ist TSC Gründung der "gemeinsamen Sprache" notwendig, um Produkt-und Lieferanten Nachhaltigkeitsleistung und Innovationen zu bewerten.

Business Integration

Walmart ist die Integration TSC Arbeit in unsere Merchandising-Geschäft. In 2011, nutzten wir das Konsortium Metriken einen Index für sechs Produktkategorien zu entwickeln. Wir haben diese Ergebnisse zur Kategorie Scorecards, die unsere Kunden an den Lieferanten Leistung gegen den größten Herausforderungen über den gesamten Lebenszyklus ihrer Produkte bewerten kann erstellen. Dann gaben wir Lieferanten umsetzbare Empfehlungen, wie sie sich verbessern. Wir erweitern diese sechs Piloten Scorecards in der Entwicklung bis zu 100 Kategorien am Ende des 2012 und sie in unser Kerngeschäft Merchandising Prozesse zu integrieren.

Consumer Engagement

Wir glauben, dass die Arbeit des TSC wird eines Tages ermöglichen es uns, unseren Kunden branchenführende Transparenz in die Produkte, die wir verkaufen. Es wird ihnen Informationen über Produkte in einer einfachen, leicht verständlichen Art und Weise und hilft ihnen Geld zu sparen und besser leben.

Social Philanthropy

Social Responsibility: Social Philanthropy

Social Philanthropy

A New Way of Giving/Living

Given what appears to be a unique opportunity to bring our massively disruptive technology to the world market, we have decided to look for equally unique ways to build the enterprise. Inspired in part by the dramatic sustainability initiatives by Walmart to leverage their global power into creating a better world, we hope to follow suit by teaming up with like-minded philanthropic organizations such as the Clinton Global Initiative, Warren Buffett’s “Hiving Pledge”, Forbes 400 Summit On Philanthropy, Singularity University etc.

The following are excerpts from their respective websites:

Clinton Global Initiative

Clinton Global Initiative

The mission of the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) is to turn ideas into action.

Established in 2005 by President Bill Clinton, the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) convenes global leaders to create and implement innovative solutions to the world’s most pressing challenges. CGI Annual Meetings have brought together more than 150 heads of state, 20 Nobel Prize laureates, and hundreds of leading CEOs, heads of foundations and NGOs, major philanthropists, and members of the media. To date CGI members have made more than 2,300 commitments, which have improved the lives of over 400 million people in more than 180 countries. When fully funded and implemented, these commitments will be valued at more than $73.1 billion.

The CGI Annual Meeting is held each September in New York City. CGI also convenes CGI America, a meeting devoted to economic recovery and job creation in the United States, and CGI University (CGI U), which hosts an annual meeting for undergraduate and graduate students who are developing commitments in their communities and around the world.

Warren Buffet's The Giving Pledge

Warren Buffett’s “The Giving Pledge”

About

The Giving Pledge is an effort to invite the wealthiest individuals and families in America to commit to giving the majority of their wealth to the philanthropic causes and charitable organizations of their choice either during their lifetime or after their death.

Each person who chooses to pledge will make this statement publicly, along with a letter explaining their decision to pledge. At an annual event, those who take the pledge will come together to share ideas and learn from each other.

The Pledge is a moral commitment to give, not a legal contract. It does not involve pooling money or supporting a particular set of causes or organizations.

While the Giving Pledge is specifically focused on billionaires, the idea takes its inspiration from efforts in the past and at present that encourage and recognize givers of all financial means and backgrounds. We are inspired by the example set by millions of Americans who give generously (and often at great personal sacrifice) to make the world a better place.

Forbes 400 Summit on Philanthropy

Forbes 400 Summit On Philanthropy

Exactly 30 years ago Malcolm Forbes’ most enduring brainchild–a ranking of the richest people in America–came to fruition. The Forbes 400 proved a phenomenon as soon as it launched. Three decades later it’s an American icon. Each of the 400 stories testifies to the American Dream. When measured together, they serve as an annual marker for the dynamism of free enterprise.

For this 30th Anniversary Issue, we decided to raise the bar : Rather than congregate only on the printed page, what if we actually summoned the 400 to come together in person? Specifically, what if the most financially successful people in America, leveraging their resources and the results-driven mind-set that created that success, tried to solve the world’s most intractable problems? To literally change the world?

So on June 26, 161 billionaires and near-billionaires gathered at the New York Public Library for The Forbes 400 Summit on Philanthropy, the greatest-ever meeting of its kind. Oprah Winfrey kicked off the day, and Warren Buffett and Bill Gates also gave keynote talks. Melinda Gates, Diane Von Furstenberg and Jacqueline Novogratz headlined a panel about giving to women and girls. Marc Andreessen, Marc Benioff and Jim Breyer talked about using tech-driven metrics to improve philanthropic efficacy. Jon Bon Jovi chatted with Steve Forbes about using fame as a force for good. (And he ended the event with a once-in-a-lifetime ukelele duet for charity with Buffett.)

The highlight of the day was a roundtable featuring six all-time great philanthropists — Warren Buffett, Bill and Melinda Gates, Steve Case, David Rubenstein and Leon Black — who have collectively pledged or given over $100 billion to charity (with the heaviest lifting from the first three, who also spearheaded The Giving Pledge). With just the smallest nudging from yours truly, this historic sextet provided one of the great primers on how to give back effectively — and why it’s important.

Singularity University

Singularity University

Our History

Singularity University was jointly founded by Dr. Peter H. Diamandis and Dr. Ray Kurzweil. The concept of a new university that could leverage the power of exponential technologies to solve humanity’s grand challenges was proposed by Diamandis to Kurzweil and to International Space University colleagues Dr. Robert D. Richards and Michael Simpson in April 2007. An exploratory meeting was held at NASA Research Park, Moffett Field in November 2007, followed in September 2008 by a Founding meeting also hosted at NAS.

Our Mission

A number of exponentially growing technologies will massively increase human capability and fundamentally reshape our future. This warrants the creation of an academic institution whose students and faculty will study these technologies, with an emphasis on the interactions between different technologies. Our mission is to assemble, educate and inspire a new generation of leaders who strive to understand and utilize exponentially advancing technologies to address humanity’s grand challenges.

The University

With the support of a broad range of specialists in academia, business and government, Singularity University creates a global network of like-minded entrepreneurs, technologists and young leaders to participate in crafting a road map to guide the evolution of these disruptive technologies. SU helps create solutions and applications of these technologies for the benefit of humanity through its Graduate Studies and Executive Programs. SU is based at the NASA Research Park campus in the heart of Silicon Valley.

Singularity University

Walmart Sustainability Index

The Secret Life

How much do you know about what’s behind a product’s label? Walmart is examining the life cycle of products to find ways to conserve natural resources.

By looking at the supply chain as a whole, we can find ways to makes products more sustainable — from farm to shelf. This is only one of many stories.

Developing a sustainable standard for products

Since 2009, we, along with some of our largest competitors, have worked alongside The Sustainability Consortium (TSC) to develop measurement and reporting systems for product sustainability. Intended to establish a global retail standard for the 21st century, this tool will help us: •improve the sustainability of the products our customers love •integrate sustainability into our core business •reduce cost, improve product quality and create a more efficient supply chain •strengthen customer trust in Walmart and the brands we carry by leading our industry in product transparency .

TSC is delivering research, metrics and reporting systems that help us engage our suppliers and better understand the products we sell. With the support of leading retailers, government agencies and universities around the world, TSC is establishing the “common language” necessary to evaluate product and supplier sustainability performance and drive innovation.

Business integration

Walmart is integrating TSC’s work into our merchandising business. In 2011, we used The Consortium’s metrics to develop an Index for six product categories. We used those results to create category scorecards, which allow our buyers to evaluate supplier performance against the biggest challenges across the life cycle of their products. Then we gave suppliers actionable recommendations for how they could improve. We’ll expand those six pilots to develop scorecards in up to 100 categories by the end of 2012 and will integrate them into our core merchandising processes.

Consumer engagement

We believe the work of TSC will one day allow us to provide our customers industry-leading transparency into the products we sell. It will provide them with information about products in a simple, easy-to-understand manner, helping them save money and live better.