marine-Highways

Innovationen: US / MARAD Marine Highways


West Coast Corridor

Die M-5 Corridor

US Maritime Administration

Küstenschifffahrt, Kurzstreckenseeverkehr und Amerikas Marine Highway sind alle Begriffe, die auf Wasserbasis Fracht, die ohne Überqueren einer großen Meeresströmungen oder Verlassen eines Kontinents transportiert wird beschreiben. Nach Angaben der US Maritime Administration (Marad), reduziert Küstenschifffahrt die Einschränkungen der Infrastruktur von verstopften Autobahnen, die wiederum schränkt die Notwendigkeit für teure Brücke Nachrüstungen, Straßen-Erweiterung und zusätzliche Highway Safety Finanzierung.

Die Europäische Union (EU) Marco Polo Programm Fonds Küstenschifffahrt durch seine Meeresautobahnen Förderprogramm. Die gesamte intermodale Programm, das Schiene umfasst, zielt darauf ab, den Gegenwert von 700,000 Lkw pro Jahr zwischen Paris und Berlin oder 74.4 Milliarden Tonnen Fracht pro Meile, die wiederum Staus und Emissionen reduzieren zu entfernen, bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der Durchsatz und Zuverlässigkeit.

In den Vereinigten Staaten ist der Küstenschifffahrt nicht sehr beliebt. Obwohl der Modus gibt es schon seit einiger Zeit, nur 2% der US-Fracht bewegt sich über Trinkwasser. Schifffahrtsrouten zwischen dem Pazifischen Nordwesten und Alaska, sowie Routen entlang der Ostküste, sind seit langem verwendet, um Waren zu transportieren, jedoch ist der Küstenschifffahrt in der Regel sekundäre Trucking, die als flexibler und ohne so viele rechtliche und finanzielle Zwänge gesehen wird . Es gibt auch Umweltbelange, einschließlich Kraftstoffart und der möglichen Notwendigkeit, den Hafenbetrieb zu erweitern, um Küstenschifffahrt unterzubringen. Die beiden US-Fällen markiert hier sind Seabridge Freight und die 64 Express, Ausnahmen und haben gezeigt, erhebliche Vorteile, einschließlich weniger Staus auf stark frequentierten LKW-Korridore.

Die Mittel aus dem National Defense Authorization Act für das Geschäftsjahr 2010 (HR 2647) bietet Sprache für Kurzstreckenseeverkehr Infrastruktur und Güterverkehr Bedürfnisse innerhalb der Vereinigten Staaten, obwohl Geld hat noch zugeordnet werden.

Sponsor: West Coast Corridor Coalition

Unterstützer: Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California maritime Angelegenheiten und Navigation Conference,
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Erholung und Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County,
WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, und Swinomish Tribal Gemeinschaft.

Landside Corridor Serviert: Interstate-5

Corridor Beschreibung:

Die M-5 Corridor umfasst die Pazifik Küstengewässer, den Anschluss handelsüblicher Fahrrinnen,
Häfen und Häfen von San Diego, CA an die US-kanadischen Grenze nördlich von Seattle, WA. Es erstreckt sich Washington,
Oregon und Kalifornien an der Westküste. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR, und der M-580
Stecker am Oakland, CA.

Attributes:

Dieser Korridor enthält mehrere Bereiche durch das US Department of Transportation als mit beträchtlichen jährlichen Lkw-Stunden Verspätung, vor allem in den städtischen Gebieten von Kalifornien, Portland, OR, und Seattle, WA identifiziert. Die Abteilung berichtet, dass Southern California und der Pacific Northwest auch mit Güterverkehr auf der Schiene Staus geplagt. Insgesamt inländischen Handel Bewegungen zwischen den drei Staaten entlang der I-5 Corridor werden voraussichtlich ab 145 wachsen Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr zu 366 Millionen Tonnen 2030, verschärft bestehende Herausforderungen.

Navigable Küstengewässer, die den gesamten I-5 Korridor parallel mit zahlreichen tiefen und sicheren Flüssen, Buchten und Häfen kombiniert wird, kann dazu beitragen, einige dieser erwarteten Zunahme des Verkehrs aufnehmen, wodurch Landseite Reise Verspätungen und Treibhausgasemissionen entlang dieser wichtigen Korridor .

Marine Highways

Innovations: US/MARAD Marine Highways


West Coast Corridor

The M-5 Corridor

US Maritime Administration

Coastal shipping, short sea shipping and America’s Marine Highway are all terms that describe waterborne freight that is transported without crossing a major ocean or leaving a continent. According to the U.S. Maritime Administration (MARAD), coastal shipping reduces the infrastructure constraints of clogged highways, which in turn curtails the need for expensive bridge retrofits, road expansion and additional highway safety funding.

The European Union’s (EU) Marco Polo Program funds coastal shipping through its Motorways of the Sea grant program. The entire intermodal program, which includes rail, aims to remove the equivalent of 700,000 trucks per year between Paris and Berlin, or 74.4 billion tons of freight per mile, which in turn will reduce congestion and emissions, while improving throughput and reliability.

In the United States, coastal shipping is not very popular. Though the mode has been around for some time, only 2% of U.S. freight moves via domestic water. Shipping routes between the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, as well as routes along the Eastern seaboard, have long been used to transport goods; however, coastal shipping is generally secondary to trucking, which is seen as more flexible and without as many legal and financial constraints. There are also environmental concerns, including fuel type and the potential need to expand port operations to accommodate coastal shipping. The two U.S. cases highlighted here, SeaBridge Freight and the 64 Express, are exceptions, and have demonstrated considerable benefits, including reduced congestion along high-traffic truck corridors.

Funding from the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2010 (HR 2647) provides language for short sea shipping infrastructure and freight transportation needs within the United States, though money has yet to be allocated.

Sponsor: West Coast Corridor Coalition

Supporters: Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California Marine Affairs and Navigation Conference,
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation, and Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County,
WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, and Swinomish Tribal Community.

Landside Corridor Served: Interstate-5

Corridor Description:

The M-5 Corridor includes the Pacific Ocean coastal waters, connecting commercial navigation channels,
ports, and harbors from San Diego, CA to the US-Canada border north of Seattle, WA. It spans Washington,
Oregon and California along the West Coast. It connects to the M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR, and the M-580
Connector at Oakland, CA.

Attributes:

This corridor contains several areas identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having considerable annual truck hours of delay, most notably in the urban areas of California, Portland, OR, and Seattle, WA. The Department reports that Southern California and the Pacific Northwest are also plagued with freight rail congestion. Total domestic trade movements between the three States along the I-5 Corridor are expected to grow from 145 million tons per year to 366 million tons by 2030, exacerbating existing challenges.

Navigable coastal waters that parallel the entire I-5 Corridor, combined with numerous deep and safe rivers, bays, and ports, can help to accommodate some of this expected increase in traffic, reducing landside travel delays and greenhouse gas emissions along this essential freight corridor.