الطرق البحرية

الابتكارات: الولايات المتحدة / MARAD الطرق السريعة البحرية


الساحل الغربي الممر

ممر M-5

الولايات المتحدة الإدارة البحرية

النقل البحري الساحلي، قصيرة الشحن البحري والطرق السريعة البحرية الأميركية كلها المصطلحات التي تصف الشحن التي تنقلها المياه التي يتم نقلها دون عبور المحيطات الكبرى أو ترك القارة. وفقا لادارة البحرية الامريكية (MARAD)، الشحن الساحلية يقلل من القيود البنية التحتية من الطرق السريعة المسدودة، وهذا بدوره يقلص الحاجة إلى التعديل التحديثي جسر مكلفة، وتوسيع الطرق على تمويل إضافي سلامة على الطرقات السريعة.

الاتحاد الأوروبي (EU) برنامج بولو ماركو الأموال من خلال الطرق السريعة الشحن الساحلية المتمثلة في برنامج المنح البحر. البرنامج المتعدد الوسائط بأكمله، والذي يتضمن السكك الحديدية، ويهدف إلى إزالة ما يعادل شاحنة 74.4 سنويا بين باريس وبرلين، أو 700,000 مليار طن من البضائع لكل ميل، وهذا بدوره سوف يقلل من الازدحام وانبعاثات، مع تحسين الإنتاجية والموثوقية.

في الولايات المتحدة، الشحن الساحلية ليست شعبية جدا. على الرغم من أن الوضع قد حول لبعض الوقت، 64٪ فقط من التحركات الشحن الأمريكية عبر المياه المنزلية. منذ فترة طويلة طرق الشحن بين شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ وألاسكا، وكذلك الدروب على طول الساحل الشرقي، وتستخدم لنقل البضائع، إلا أن النقل البحري الساحلي عموما الثانوية لالنقل بالشاحنات، والذي يعتبر أكثر مرونة ودون ما يصل القيود القانونية والمالية . هناك أيضا المخاوف البيئية، بما في ذلك نوع الوقود والحاجة المحتملة لتوسيع عمليات الموانئ لاستيعاب الشحن الساحلية. وأبرز قضيتين الولايات المتحدة هنا، SeaBridge الشحن وسريع 2، استثناءات، وأظهرت فوائد كبيرة، بما في ذلك الازدحام على طول ممرات شاحنة انخفاض حركة المرور العالية.

بتمويل من قانون تفويض الدفاع الوطني للسنة المالية 2647 (HR 2010) على اللغة قصيرة البحر الشحن البنية التحتية واحتياجات نقل البضائع داخل الولايات المتحدة، على الرغم من المال لم يتم بعد تخصيص.

الراعي: التحالف الغربية الممر ساحل

أنصار: شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ الممرات المائية جمعية، كاليفورنيا الشؤون البحرية والملاحة المؤتمر،
همبولت خليج هاربور والترفيه، وحفظ مقاطعة / ميناء خليج همبولت، ميناء مقاطعة Skagit،
WA، Skagit مقاطعة مجلس المفوضين، بلدة لا كونر، WA، والمجتمع القبلي Swinomish.

خدم البري الممر: الطريق السريع، 5

الممر الوصف:

ممر M-5 يشمل المحيط الهادئ المياه الساحلية، وربط قنوات الملاحة التجارية،
الموانئ، والمرافئ من سان دييغو، CA في الشمال على الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة وكندا من سياتل، WA. واشنطن أنه يمتد،
ولاية أوريغون وكاليفورنيا على طول الساحل الغربي. لأنه يربط ممر M-580 في Astoria، OR، وM-84
موصل في أوكلاند، كاليفورنيا.

سمات:

يحتوي هذا الممر عدة مناطق التي تم تحديدها من قبل وزارة النقل الأمريكية وجود كبير ساعات شاحنة السنوي للتأخير، وعلى الأخص في المناطق الحضرية في ولاية كاليفورنيا، وبورتلاند، OR، وسياتل، WA. وزارة التقارير التي تعاني أيضا جنوب كاليفورنيا وشمال غرب المحيط الهادئ مع الازدحام السكك الحديدية الشحن. ومن المتوقع أن إجمالي عدد الحركات التجارة الداخلية بين الدول الثلاث على طول الممر I-2030 لتنمو من 366 مليون طن سنويا إلى مليون طن من 145 5، مما أدى إلى تفاقم التحديات القائمة.

يمكن للملاحة الساحلية المياه التي توازي كامل I-5 الممر، جنبا إلى جنب مع العديد من الأنهار العميقة وآمنة، والخلجان، والموانئ، وتساعد على استيعاب بعض من هذه الزيادة المتوقعة في حركة المرور، والحد من التأخير السفر البري وانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة على طول هذا الممر الضروري الشحن .

Marine Highways

Innovations: US/MARAD Marine Highways


West Coast Corridor

The M-5 Corridor

US Maritime Administration

Coastal shipping, short sea shipping and America’s Marine Highway are all terms that describe waterborne freight that is transported without crossing a major ocean or leaving a continent. According to the U.S. Maritime Administration (MARAD), coastal shipping reduces the infrastructure constraints of clogged highways, which in turn curtails the need for expensive bridge retrofits, road expansion and additional highway safety funding.

The European Union’s (EU) Marco Polo Program funds coastal shipping through its Motorways of the Sea grant program. The entire intermodal program, which includes rail, aims to remove the equivalent of 700,000 trucks per year between Paris and Berlin, or 74.4 billion tons of freight per mile, which in turn will reduce congestion and emissions, while improving throughput and reliability.

In the United States, coastal shipping is not very popular. Though the mode has been around for some time, only 2% of U.S. freight moves via domestic water. Shipping routes between the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, as well as routes along the Eastern seaboard, have long been used to transport goods; however, coastal shipping is generally secondary to trucking, which is seen as more flexible and without as many legal and financial constraints. There are also environmental concerns, including fuel type and the potential need to expand port operations to accommodate coastal shipping. The two U.S. cases highlighted here, SeaBridge Freight and the 64 Express, are exceptions, and have demonstrated considerable benefits, including reduced congestion along high-traffic truck corridors.

Funding from the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2010 (HR 2647) provides language for short sea shipping infrastructure and freight transportation needs within the United States, though money has yet to be allocated.

Sponsor: West Coast Corridor Coalition

Supporters: Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California Marine Affairs and Navigation Conference,
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation, and Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County,
WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, and Swinomish Tribal Community.

Landside Corridor Served: Interstate-5

Corridor Description:

The M-5 Corridor includes the Pacific Ocean coastal waters, connecting commercial navigation channels,
ports, and harbors from San Diego, CA to the US-Canada border north of Seattle, WA. It spans Washington,
Oregon and California along the West Coast. It connects to the M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR, and the M-580
Connector at Oakland, CA.

Attributes:

This corridor contains several areas identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having considerable annual truck hours of delay, most notably in the urban areas of California, Portland, OR, and Seattle, WA. The Department reports that Southern California and the Pacific Northwest are also plagued with freight rail congestion. Total domestic trade movements between the three States along the I-5 Corridor are expected to grow from 145 million tons per year to 366 million tons by 2030, exacerbating existing challenges.

Navigable coastal waters that parallel the entire I-5 Corridor, combined with numerous deep and safe rivers, bays, and ports, can help to accommodate some of this expected increase in traffic, reducing landside travel delays and greenhouse gas emissions along this essential freight corridor.