ISN: Gulf Coast

The Edge: Gulf Coast


THE EDGE GULF COAST

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Corridor Mississippi

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: La côte du Golfe

Commanditaire

Mississippi Dept of Transportation

Partisans

Corridor Coalition Interstate-95

Floride DOT, DOT Texas, en Louisiane, DOT, NW Louisiana économique
Fondation pour le développement du Sud, Alabama Regional Planning Commission, port de Jacksonville, Port de Tampa, Port de Pensacola, Port de Pascagoula, Port de Morgan City, Port de la Nouvelle-Orléans, Saint-Bernard et Terminal Port District, Port de Lake Charles, Port de Houston Autorité, port de Brownsville, et Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association.

Corridor Landside Servi

Interstate-10

Corridor description de

Le corridor M-10 comprend le golfe du Mexique, la Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, et la connexion chenaux de navigation commerciale, les ports et havres. Il s'étend de Brownsville, TX à Jacksonville et Port Manatee, en Floride et comprend le Texas, la Louisiane, le Mississippi, l'Alabama et la Floride. Il se connecte au corridor M-49 à Morgan City, Los Angeles, le corridor M-65 à Mobile, en Alabama, et le M-55 la Nouvelle-Orléans, en Louisiane.


Les attributs

Le corridor I-10 (y compris les routes secondaires entre Houston et Brownsville et I-75 sur la côte ouest de la Floride et s'étendant jusqu'à la région de Tampa / Port Manatee) est parallèle à la côte américaine du golfe, pouvant accueillir considérable est-ouest de transport. Le département américain des Transports a identifié les principaux goulets d'étranglement routiers de fret en plusieurs points le long de ce corridor, y compris dans et autour de Houston, New Orleans, et Tampa. La congestion ferroviaire de marchandises est également un défi dans et autour de la région de Houston. L'étude National Freight I-10 montre miles 400 du corridor déjà à un niveau inacceptable du service. Le trafic du corridor devrait croître de manière significative par 2025.

Heureusement, le vaste réseau de zones côtières, intracoastal et les voies navigables le long de ce corridor peut offrir un soulagement aux retards dans les déplacements existants et projetés. Bien qu'il existe déjà de nombreuses opérations maritimes le long de ce corridor, un très faible pourcentage mener conteneurs ou le fret roulier. Cependant, ces services existants limitées démontrent que l'exploitation des routes maritimes dans ce corridor sont possibles. En outre, de grandes quantités de matières dangereuses se déplacer le long de ce corridor, qui, s'ils sont transportés par l'eau, pourrait améliorer la sûreté et la sécurité.

ISN: Gulf Coast

The Edge: Gulf Coast


THE GULF COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: The Gulf Coast

Sponsor

Mississippi Dept of Transportation

Supporters

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Florida DOT, Texas DOT, Louisiana DOT, NW Louisiana Economic
Development Foundation, South Alabama Regional Planning Commission, Port of Jacksonville, Port of Tampa, Port of Pensacola, Port of Pascagoula, Port of Morgan City, Port of New Orleans, St. Bernard Terminal and Harbor District, Port of Lake Charles, Port of Houston Authority, Port of Brownsville, and Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-10

Corridor Description

The M-10 Corridor includes the Gulf of Mexico, the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It stretches from Brownsville, TX to Jacksonville and Port Manatee, FL and includes Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida. It connects to the M-49 Corridor at Morgan City, LA, the M-65 Corridor in Mobile, AL, and the M-55 in New Orleans, LA.


Attributes

The I-10 corridor (including secondary roads between Houston and Brownsville and I-75 on Florida’s West Coast and extending to the Tampa/Port Manatee area) parallels the U.S. Gulf Coast, accommodating considerable east-west freight. The U.S. Department of Transportation has identified major freight truck bottlenecks at several points along this corridor, including in and around Houston, New Orleans, and Tampa. Freight rail congestion is also a challenge in and around the Houston area. The National I-10 Freight Study shows 400 miles of the corridor already operating at an unacceptable level of service. Corridor traffic is expected to grow significantly by 2025.

Fortunately, the extensive network of coastal, intracoastal and inland waterways along this corridor can offer relief to the existing and projected travel delays. Although there are already numerous maritime operations along this corridor, a very low percentage carry containerized or roll-on/roll-off freight. However, these existing limited services demonstrate that marine highway operations in this corridor are possible. In addition, large volumes of hazardous materials move along this corridor, which, if transported by water, could improve safety and security.