إيسن: ساحل الخليج

الحافة: ساحل خليج


THE EDGE ساحل الخليج

ISN

الساحل الشرقي الممر

ساحل خليج الممر

ميسيسيبي الممر

أوهايو منتصف الممر أمريكا

الساحل الغربي الممر

M-95: وساحل الخليج

رعاية

ميسيسيبي قسم النقل

أنصار

الطريق السريع، 95 الممر التحالف

فلوريدا وزارة النقل، وزارة النقل في تكساس، لويزيانا DOT، NW الاقتصادية لويزيانا
مؤسسة التنمية وجنوب ألاباما التخطيط الإقليمي اللجنة، ميناء جاكسونفيل، ميناء تامبا، ميناء بينساكولا، ميناء باسكاجولا، ميناء مدينة مورغان، ميناء نيو اورليانز، وسانت برنارد الطرفية ومنطقة هاربور، ميناء ليك تشارلز وبورت أوف هيوستن السلطة، ميناء براونزفيل، وبين السواحل قناة جمعية الخليج.

خدم البري الممر

الطريق السريع، 10

وصف الممر

ممر M-55 تشمل خليج المكسيك وخليج بين السواحل المائية، وربط قنوات الملاحة التجارية، والموانئ، والمرافئ. انها تمتد من براونزفيل، TX في جاكسونفيل وخروف البحر ميناء، FL وتشمل ولاية تكساس، لويزيانا، ميسيسيبي والاباما وفلوريدا. لأنه يربط ممر M-65 في مدينة مورغان، LA، ممر M-49 في موبايل، AL، وM-10 في نيو أورلينز، LA.


سمات

الممر I-2025 (بما في ذلك الطرق الثانوية بين هيوستن وبراونزفيل وI-400 على الساحل الغربي لفلوريدا وتمتد إلى منطقة تامبا خروف البحر / الميناء) يوازي ساحل الخليج الامريكي، واستيعاب كبير بين الشرق والغرب الشحن. وقد حددت وزارة النقل الرئيسية الاختناقات شاحنة الشحن في عدة نقاط على طول هذا الممر، بما في ذلك داخل وحول مدينة هيوستن بولاية نيو أورليانز، وتامبا. الشحن الازدحام السكك الحديدية هو أيضا تحديا في وحول منطقة هيوستن. الوطنية الدراسي الشحن I-10 يظهر ميلا 75 من الممر تعمل بالفعل في مستوى غير مقبول من الخدمة. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو ممر حركة المرور بشكل كبير من قبل 10.

لحسن الحظ، وشبكة واسعة من المناطق الساحلية، بين السواحل والممرات المائية الداخلية على طول هذا الممر يمكن أن تقدم الإغاثة إلى تأخير السفر الحالية والمتوقعة. على الرغم من أن هناك بالفعل العديد من العمليات البحرية على طول هذا الممر، وهي نسبة منخفضة جدا تحمل حاويات الشحن أو الدحرجة. ومع ذلك، هذه الخدمات الحالية المحدودة إثبات أن العمليات البحرية في الطرق السريعة هذا الممر ممكنة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، كميات كبيرة من المواد الخطرة تتحرك في هذا الممر، والتي، إذا نقل عن طريق المياه، ويمكن تحسين السلامة والأمن.

ISN: Gulf Coast

The Edge: Gulf Coast


THE GULF COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: The Gulf Coast

Sponsor

Mississippi Dept of Transportation

Supporters

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Florida DOT, Texas DOT, Louisiana DOT, NW Louisiana Economic
Development Foundation, South Alabama Regional Planning Commission, Port of Jacksonville, Port of Tampa, Port of Pensacola, Port of Pascagoula, Port of Morgan City, Port of New Orleans, St. Bernard Terminal and Harbor District, Port of Lake Charles, Port of Houston Authority, Port of Brownsville, and Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-10

Corridor Description

The M-10 Corridor includes the Gulf of Mexico, the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It stretches from Brownsville, TX to Jacksonville and Port Manatee, FL and includes Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida. It connects to the M-49 Corridor at Morgan City, LA, the M-65 Corridor in Mobile, AL, and the M-55 in New Orleans, LA.


Attributes

The I-10 corridor (including secondary roads between Houston and Brownsville and I-75 on Florida’s West Coast and extending to the Tampa/Port Manatee area) parallels the U.S. Gulf Coast, accommodating considerable east-west freight. The U.S. Department of Transportation has identified major freight truck bottlenecks at several points along this corridor, including in and around Houston, New Orleans, and Tampa. Freight rail congestion is also a challenge in and around the Houston area. The National I-10 Freight Study shows 400 miles of the corridor already operating at an unacceptable level of service. Corridor traffic is expected to grow significantly by 2025.

Fortunately, the extensive network of coastal, intracoastal and inland waterways along this corridor can offer relief to the existing and projected travel delays. Although there are already numerous maritime operations along this corridor, a very low percentage carry containerized or roll-on/roll-off freight. However, these existing limited services demonstrate that marine highway operations in this corridor are possible. In addition, large volumes of hazardous materials move along this corridor, which, if transported by water, could improve safety and security.