ISN: East Coast

The Edge: East Coast


LE BORD DE LA CÔTE EST

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Corridor Mississippi

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: La côte Est

Commanditaire

Corridor Coalition Interstate-95

Partisans

Corridor Coalition Interstate-95

Conférence du Conseil de State Governments 'Eastern Regional, Commonwealth de Pennsylvanie, New Jersey DOT, CT DOT, CT Maritime Commission, en Floride, DOT, East Central FL RPC, Space Coast Autorité de planification des transports, la Commission de développement économique du Space Coast en Floride, DE vallée RPC, DE River & Administration Bay, SE
Aménagement du territoire et économique Dev Commission, Richmond Regional RPC, NJ Autorité de planification des transports, État de New York Metropolitan Transportation Council, NYCDOT, NYSDOT, port de Baltimore, NC ports, Port de la messe, Port de New Bedford, MA, la ville de New London, CT , Philadelphie régional Administration portuaire de Port MD Commission, Philadelphie régional portuaire, ME Port Authority, l'autorité portuaire de New York et New Jersey, Port Canaveral, Floride, Caroline du Sud Etat portuaire, VA Administration portuaire de Port de Davisville, RI, Jaxport, FL, et l'
Association Maritime du Port de New York et du New Jersey.

Corridor Landside Servi

Interstate-95


Corridor description de

Le corridor M-95 comprend l'Océan Atlantique, les eaux côtières de l'Atlantique Intracoastal Waterway et la connexion chenaux de navigation commerciale, les ports et havres. Il s'étend de Miami à Portland, ME et s'étend sur les États 15. Il se connecte au connecteur M-87 et le corridor M-90 près de New York, et le connecteur M-64 à Norfolk, en Virginie.


Les attributs

Le 1,925 mile de long I-95 Corridor est le principal Nord-Sud corridor de fret terrestre sur la côte Est. Le département américain des Transports a identifié plus d'une douzaine de grands goulets d'étranglement routiers de fret le long de cette route, ainsi que la congestion ferroviaire critique importante le long des parties supérieures. Projections relatives aux volumes de fret futurs défis croissants de congestion indiquent fret, avec peu de possibilités d'augmenter la capacité terrestre.

Le corridor est le foyer de 15 des plus grands ports maritimes 50 aux États-Unis (selon le classement du débit total). Ces ports traitent environ 582 millions de tonnes courtes de fret, ou en pourcentage 26 du total national. Une grande partie de ce fret commence ou termine son périple avec un transit I-95. Heureusement, la côte Est possède aussi une multitude de cours d'eau, des baies, des rivières et la côte de l'Atlantique lui-même. Le corridor est également bordée de moins encombrés, les ports plus petits créneaux qui pourraient jouer un rôle vital dans le réseau de services maritimes autoroute en développement. Alors que plusieurs opérations autoroute maritime desservent déjà ce couloir, il ya opportunité importante pour l'expansion pour soulager la congestion croissante adresse, de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, économiser l'énergie et réduire les coûts d'entretien des infrastructures côté ville.

ISN: East Coast

The Edge: East Coast


THE EAST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: The East Coast

Sponsor

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Supporters

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Council of State Governments’ Eastern Regional Conference,Commonwealth of PA, NJ DOT, CT DOT, CT Maritime Commission, Florida DOT, East Central FL RPC, Space Coast Transportation Planning Authority, Economic Development Commission of Florida’s Space Coast, DE Valley RPC, DE River & Bay Authority, SE
Regional Planning & Economic Dev Commission, Richmond Regional RPC, NJ Transportation Planning Authority, NY Metropolitan Transportation Council, NYCDOT, NYSDOT, Port of Baltimore, NC Ports, Port of Mass., Port of New Bedford, MA, City of New London, CT, Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, MD Port Commission, Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, ME Port Authority, Port Authority of NY & NJ, Port Canaveral, FL,SC State Port Authority, VA Port Authority, Port of Davisville, RI, Jaxport, FL, and the
Maritime Association of the Port of New York & New Jersey.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-95


Corridor Description

The M-95 Corridor includes the Atlantic Ocean coastal waters, Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It stretches from Miami, FL to Portland, ME and spans 15 states. It connects to the M-87 Connector and the M-90 Corridor near New York City; and the M-64 Connector at Norfolk, VA.


Attributes

The 1,925 mile-long I-95 Corridor is the major North-South landside freight corridor on the East Coast. The U.S. Department of Transportation identified more than a dozen major freight truck bottlenecks along this route, along with significant critical rail congestion along the upper portions. Projections of future freight volumes indicate increasing freight congestion challenges, with limited opportunity to increase landside capacity.

The Corridor is home to 15 of the largest 50 marine ports in the United States (as ranked by total throughput). These ports handle approximately 582 million short tons of cargo, or 26 percent of the national total. Much of this freight begins or ends its journey with an I-95 transit. Fortunately, the East Coast also possesses a host of waterways, bays, rivers, and the Atlantic coast itself. The Corridor is also lined with less congested, smaller niche ports that could play a vital part in the developing marine highway service network. While several Marine Highway operations already serve this corridor, there is significant opportunity for expansion to help address growing congestion, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, conserve energy, and lower landside infrastructure maintenance costs.