ISN: East Coast

The Edge: East Coast


THE EAST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: Der East Coast

Sponsor

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Unterstützer

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Staatsrat Regierungen Eastern Regional Conference, Commonwealth of PA, NJ DOT, CT DOT, CT Maritime Commission, Florida DOT, East Central FL RPC, Space Coast Transportation Planning Authority, DE Economic Development Commission of Florida Space Coast, DE Tal RPC, River & Bay Authority, SE
Regional Planning & Economic Dev Kommission, Richmond Regional RPC, NJ Transportation Planning Authority, NY Metropolitan Transportation Rat NYCDOT, NYSDOT, Port of Baltimore, NC Ports, Port of Massachusetts Hafen von New Bedford, MA, City of New London, CT , Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, MD Hafen Kommission, Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, ME Port Authority, Port Authority of NY & NJ, Port Canaveral, FL, SC State Port Authority, VA Port Authority, Port of Davisville, RI, Jaxport, FL, und das
Maritime Association des Hafens von New York & New Jersey.

Landside Corridor Serviert

Interstate-95


Corridor Beschreibung

Die M-95 Corridor umfasst die Atlantik Küstengewässer, Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway und den Anschluss handelsüblicher Fahrrinnen, Häfen und Häfen. Es erstreckt sich von Miami, FL nach Portland, ME und überspannt 15 Staaten. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-87 Connector und dem M-90 Corridor der Nähe von New York City, und der M-64 Stecker am Norfolk, VA.


Attributes

Die 1,925 Meile langen I-95 Corridor ist der wichtigste Nord-Süd-Landseite Güterverkehrskorridors an der Ostküste. Das US Department of Transportation identifizierten mehr als ein Dutzend große Fracht-LKW-Engpässe entlang dieser Strecke, zusammen mit bedeutenden kritischen Schiene Staus entlang der oberen Abschnitte. Prognosen über zukünftige Frachtaufkommen bedeuten zunehmende Güterverkehr Staus Herausforderungen, mit begrenzten Möglichkeit, Landseite zu erhöhen.

Der Korridor ist die Heimat 15 der größten 50 Seehäfen in den Vereinigten Staaten (wie Gesamtdurchsatz Platz). Diese Ports umgehen rund 582 Mio. kurzen Tonnen Fracht oder 26 Prozent des nationalen total. Ein Großteil dieser Güter beginnt oder endet seine Reise mit einem I-95 Transit. Glücklicherweise ist die East Coast besitzt auch eine Vielzahl von Wasserläufen, Buchten, Flüsse und der Atlantikküste sich. Der Korridor ist auch mit weniger überlastete, kleinere Nischen-Ports, die eine wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung von Marine Highway Service-Netzwerk spielen konnte ausgekleidet. Während einige Marine Highway Operationen bereits diesen Korridor dienen, gibt es bedeutende Chance für Erweiterung Adresse zunehmenden Überlastung helfen, Treibhausgasemissionen zu verringern, Energie sparen und niedrigere landseitige Infrastruktur Wartungskosten.

ISN: East Coast

The Edge: East Coast


THE EAST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-95: The East Coast

Sponsor

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Supporters

Interstate-95 Corridor Coalition

Council of State Governments’ Eastern Regional Conference,Commonwealth of PA, NJ DOT, CT DOT, CT Maritime Commission, Florida DOT, East Central FL RPC, Space Coast Transportation Planning Authority, Economic Development Commission of Florida’s Space Coast, DE Valley RPC, DE River & Bay Authority, SE
Regional Planning & Economic Dev Commission, Richmond Regional RPC, NJ Transportation Planning Authority, NY Metropolitan Transportation Council, NYCDOT, NYSDOT, Port of Baltimore, NC Ports, Port of Mass., Port of New Bedford, MA, City of New London, CT, Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, MD Port Commission, Philadelphia Regional Port Authority, ME Port Authority, Port Authority of NY & NJ, Port Canaveral, FL,SC State Port Authority, VA Port Authority, Port of Davisville, RI, Jaxport, FL, and the
Maritime Association of the Port of New York & New Jersey.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-95


Corridor Description

The M-95 Corridor includes the Atlantic Ocean coastal waters, Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It stretches from Miami, FL to Portland, ME and spans 15 states. It connects to the M-87 Connector and the M-90 Corridor near New York City; and the M-64 Connector at Norfolk, VA.


Attributes

The 1,925 mile-long I-95 Corridor is the major North-South landside freight corridor on the East Coast. The U.S. Department of Transportation identified more than a dozen major freight truck bottlenecks along this route, along with significant critical rail congestion along the upper portions. Projections of future freight volumes indicate increasing freight congestion challenges, with limited opportunity to increase landside capacity.

The Corridor is home to 15 of the largest 50 marine ports in the United States (as ranked by total throughput). These ports handle approximately 582 million short tons of cargo, or 26 percent of the national total. Much of this freight begins or ends its journey with an I-95 transit. Fortunately, the East Coast also possesses a host of waterways, bays, rivers, and the Atlantic coast itself. The Corridor is also lined with less congested, smaller niche ports that could play a vital part in the developing marine highway service network. While several Marine Highway operations already serve this corridor, there is significant opportunity for expansion to help address growing congestion, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, conserve energy, and lower landside infrastructure maintenance costs.