ISN: West Coast

The Edge: West Coast


AU BORD DE LA CÔTE OUEST

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Corridor Mississippi

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-5: La côte ouest

Commanditaire

Coalition Corridor ouest Côte

Partisans

Pacific Association Northwest Waterways, Californie affaires maritimes et de la Conférence de navigation, Humboldt Bay Harbor, des loisirs et Conservation District / Port de Humboldt Bay, Port du comté de Skagit, WA, Conseil des commissaires du comté de Skagit, Ville de La Conner, WA, et Swinomish Tribal Communauté.

Corridor Landside Servi

Interstate-5

Corridor description de

Le M-5 Corridor comprend les eaux côtières de l'océan Pacifique, reliant les voies commerciales de navigation, les ports et les ports de San Diego, CA à la frontière nord de Seattle, WA US-Canada. Il enjambe Washington, Oregon et de la Californie le long de la côte Ouest. Il se connecte au M-84 Corridor à Astoria, OR,
et le connecteur M-580 à Oakland, CA.

Les attributs

Ce corridor contient plusieurs domaines identifiés par le US Department of Transportation comme ayant
considérables heures de camion annuelle de retard, notamment dans les zones urbaines de la Californie, Portland, OR,
et Seattle, WA. Les rapports du Département que Californie du Sud et du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique sont également aux prises avec la congestion du transport ferroviaire de marchandises. Total des mouvements de commerce intérieur entre les trois Etats le long de la I-5 Corridor devraient croître de 145 millions de tonnes par an à 366 millions de tonnes par 2030,
exacerbant les défis existants. eaux côtières navigables qui mettent en parallèle l'ensemble I-5 Corridor, combinés avec de nombreuses rivières profondes et sûres, les baies et ports, peuvent aider à accueillir une partie de cette augmentation attendue du trafic, la réduction des retards de voyage landside et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre
le long de ce corridor de fret essentiel.

M-580: La vallée de Sacramento

Commanditaire

Port de Stockton, Californie

Partisans

Bay Area Air Quality Management District, Valley Air Pollution Control District San Joaquin, Port d'Oakland, et le port de West Sacramento. Landside Corridor desservie: Interstate-580 Corridor Description: Le M-580 Corridor comprend la rivière Joaquin San, Sacramento River, et la connexion des circuits commerciaux de navigation, des ports et des ports dans le centre de la Californie de Sacramento, CA à Oakland. Il se connecte au Corridor M-5 à Oakland.

Corridor Landside Servi

Interstate-580

Corridor description de

Le M-580 Corridor comprend la rivière Joaquin San, Sacramento River, et la connexion des circuits commerciaux de navigation, des ports et des ports dans le centre de la Californie de Sacramento, CA à Oakland. Il se connecte au Corridor M-5 à Oakland.

Les attributs

I-580 est l'une des routes les plus encombrées de la nation, et a été identifié par le ministère américain des Transports comme ayant d'importantes heures de camions annuels de retard. Environ 25 pour cent du volume du port d'Oakland se déplace vers et depuis la vallée de San Joaquin de la Californie, une région déjà reconnue pour certains des pires pollution de l'air du pays. Par 2020, le port du volume de Oakland devrait augmenter de 65 pour cent, aggravant encore la congestion et la qualité de l'air des questions de la vallée. Un mouvement accru de marchandises par eau pourrait aider à soulager cette situation. En 2007, près de 3.4 millions de tonnes de marchandises à base d'eau, principalement des produits en vrac, ont transité par le port de Stockton via le Deepwater Ship Channel Stockton et San Joaquin rivière, soulignant la capacité potentielle de ce système de navigation. Un exemple du potentiel pour les mouvements de marchandises par voie d'eau le long de ce corridor est un service proposé de la route maritime entre les ports de Oakland, Stockton et West Sacramento. Entièrement mis en œuvre, il pourrait éliminer 180,000 voyages de camions de I-580, I-80, et I-205 chaque année, économisant environ 7 millions de gallons de carburant et de réduire les émissions atmosphériques dans le processus.

M-84: La vallée de Columbia

Commanditaire

Port de Portland, Oregon

Partisans

Pacific Northwest voies Ass.

Corridor Landside Servi

Interstate-84

Corridor description de

Le M-84 Corridor comprend les rivières Columbia et Snake, reliant les voies commerciales de navigation, des ports et des ports. Il enjambe l'Oregon et de l'Idaho d'Astoria, OR à Lewiston, ID. Il se connecte au Corridor M-5 à Astoria, OR.

Les attributs

I-84, qui est parallèle à la rivière Columbia dans l'Oregon, a été identifié comme un goulot d'étranglement de camion de fret par le ministère américain des Transports, entraînant jusqu'à 750,000 heures de camion de retard par an. Ceci est également noté par le ministère comme une zone de grande congestion ferroviaire. Containers depuis les ports de Seattle, Tacoma et Portland se déplacent actuellement par camion sur I-84 (et I-5), et 55 pour cent des mouvements du marché des conteneurs de la région par le biais de Puget Sound, ce qui provoque plus de trafic routier et ferroviaire de marchandises entre ces ports.

L'augmentation de l'utilisation de la voie d'eau en parallèle I-84 peut aider à atténuer la congestion terrestre, réduire les émissions atmosphériques, et conserver l'énergie. Un service conteneurs sur barge appelle actuellement sur les petits ports le long de la Columbia et Snake Rivers est un exemple du potentiel du couloir. Un service hebdomadaire proposé entre les ports de Umatilla, Portland, Seattle et Tacoma pourrait également accueillir l'équivalent de camions 36,000 qui parcourent le corridor landside I-5 chaque année. Une telle opération pourrait servir à la fois les exportateurs agricoles et les importateurs dans le transport maritime du Pacifique Nord-Ouest vers les marchés d'Extrême-Orient.

ISN: West Coast

The Edge: West Coast


THE WEST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-5: The West Coast

Sponsor

West Coast Corridor Coalition

Supporters

Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California Marine Affairs and Navigation Conference, Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation, and Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County, WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, and Swinomish Tribal Community.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-5

Corridor Description

The M-5 Corridor includes the Pacific Ocean coastal waters, connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors from San Diego, CA to the US-Canada border north of Seattle, WA. It spans Washington, Oregon and California along the West Coast. It connects to the M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR,
and the M-580 Connector at Oakland, CA.

Attributes

This corridor contains several areas identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having
considerable annual truck hours of delay, most notably in the urban areas of California, Portland, OR,
and Seattle, WA. The Department reports that Southern California and the Pacific Northwest are also plagued with freight rail congestion. Total domestic trade movements between the three States along the I-5 Corridor are expected to grow from 145 million tons per year to 366 million tons by 2030,
exacerbating existing challenges. Navigable coastal waters that parallel the entire I-5 Corridor, combined with numerous deep and safe rivers, bays, and ports, can help to accommodate some of this expected increase in traffic, reducing landside travel delays and greenhouse gas emissions
along this essential freight corridor.

M-580: The Sacramento Valley

Sponsor

Port of Stockton, California

Supporters

Bay Area Air Quality Management District, San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District, Port of Oakland, and the Port of West Sacramento. Landside Corridor Served: Interstate-580 Corridor Description: The M-580 Corridor includes the San Joaquin River, Sacramento River, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors in Central California from Sacramento, CA to Oakland. It connects to the M-5 Corridor at Oakland.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-580

Corridor Description

The M-580 Corridor includes the San Joaquin River, Sacramento River, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors in Central California from Sacramento, CA to Oakland. It connects to the M-5 Corridor at Oakland.

Attributes

I-580 is one of the most congested highways in the nation, and has been identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having significant annual truck hours of delay. Approximately 25 percent of the Port of Oakland’s volume travels to and from the San Joaquin Valley of California, an area already recognized for some of the country’s worst air pollution. By 2020, the Port of Oakland’s volume is expected to increase by 65 percent, further exacerbating the Valley’s congestion and air quality issues. An increased movement of freight by water could help to relieve this situation. In 2007, nearly 3.4 million tons of waterborne cargo, mainly bulk goods, moved through the Port of Stockton via the Stockton Deepwater Ship Channel and San Joaquin River, underscoring the potential capacity of this waterway system. One example of the potential for waterborne freight movements along this corridor is a proposed marine highway service between the Ports of Oakland, Stockton, and West Sacramento. Fully implemented, it could eliminate 180,000 truck trips from I-580, I-80, and I-205 annually, saving approximately 7 million gallons of fuel and reducing air emissions in the process.

M-84: The Columbia Valley

Sponsor

Port of Portland, Oregon

Supporters

Pacific Northwest Waterways Ass.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-84

Corridor Description

The M-84 Corridor includes the Columbia and Snake Rivers, connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It spans Oregon and Idaho from Astoria, OR to Lewiston, ID. It connects to the M-5 Corridor in Astoria, OR.

Attributes

I-84, which parallels the Columbia River in Oregon, has been identified as a freight truck bottleneck by the U.S. Department of Transportation, resulting in up to 750,000 truck hours of delay annually. This is also noted by the Department as an area of major rail congestion. Containers from the Ports of Seattle, Tacoma, and Portland currently move by truck on I-84 (and I-5), and 55 percent of the region’s container market moves through Puget Sound, causing additional truck and rail freight traffic between these ports.

Increasing the use of the water route paralleling I-84 can help mitigate landside congestion, reduce air emissions, and conserve energy. A container-on-barge service currently calling on smaller ports along the Columbia and Snake Rivers is one example of the corridor’s potential. A proposed weekly service between the Ports of Umatilla, Portland, Seattle, and Tacoma could also accommodate the equivalent of 36,000 trucks that travel the I-5 landside corridor each year. An operation like this could serve both agricultural exporters and importers in the Pacific Northwest shipping to Far East markets.