ISN: West Coast

The Edge: West Coast


THE WEST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-5: The West Coast

Sponsor

West Coast Corridor Coalition

Unterstützer

Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California maritime Angelegenheiten und Navigation Conference, Humboldt Bay Harbor, Erholung und Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County, WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, und Swinomish Tribal Community.

Landside Corridor Serviert

Interstate-5

Corridor Beschreibung

Die M-5 Corridor umfasst die Pazifik Küstengewässer, den Anschluss handelsüblicher Fahrrinnen, Häfen und Häfen von San Diego, CA an die US-kanadischen Grenze nördlich von Seattle, WA. Es erstreckt sich Washington, Oregon und Kalifornien an der Westküste. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR,
und die M-580 Stecker am Oakland, CA.

Attributes

Dieser Korridor enthält mehrere Bereiche durch das US Department of Transportation als mit identifizierten
beträchtliche jährliche Lkw-Stunden Verspätung, vor allem in den städtischen Gebieten von Kalifornien, Portland, OR,
und Seattle, WA. Die Abteilung berichtet, dass Southern California und der Pacific Northwest auch mit Güterverkehr auf der Schiene Staus geplagt. Insgesamt inländischen Handel Bewegungen zwischen den drei Staaten entlang der I-5 Corridor werden voraussichtlich ab 145 wachsen Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr zu 366 Millionen Tonnen 2030,
verschärft bestehende Herausforderungen. Navigable Küstengewässer, die den gesamten I-5 Korridor parallel mit zahlreichen tiefen und sicheren Flüssen, Buchten und Häfen kombiniert wird, kann dazu beitragen, einige dieser erwarteten Zunahme des Verkehrs aufnehmen, wodurch Landseite Verspätungen und Treibhausgasemissionen
entlang dieser wichtigen Korridor.

M-580: The Sacramento Valley

Sponsor

Port of Stockton, California

Unterstützer

Bay Area Air Quality Management District, San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District, Port of Oakland, und dem Hafen von West Sacramento. Landside Corridor Serviert: Interstate-580 Corridor Beschreibung: Die M-580 Corridor umfasst die San Joaquin River, Sacramento River und verbindet die kommerzielle Schifffahrt Kanäle, Häfen und Häfen in Central California aus Sacramento, CA nach Oakland. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-5 Corridor in Oakland.

Landside Corridor Serviert

Interstate-580

Corridor Beschreibung

Die M-580 Corridor umfasst die San Joaquin River, Sacramento River und verbindet die kommerzielle Schifffahrt Kanäle, Häfen und Häfen in Central California aus Sacramento, CA nach Oakland. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-5 Corridor in Oakland.

Attributes

I-580 ist einer der am stärksten überlasteten Autobahnen in der Nation, und wurde durch das US Department of Transportation als Betreiber mit beträchtlicher jährlichen Lkw-Stunden Verspätung identifiziert. Etwa 25 Prozent des Port of Oakland die Lautstärke fährt ab und der San Joaquin Valley in Kalifornien, ein Gebiet, das bereits für einige der Landes schlimmsten Luftverschmutzung erkannt. Durch 2020 wird der Hafen von Oakland das Volumen voraussichtlich um 65 Prozent zu erhöhen, weiter verschlimmert das Tal Staus und Luftqualität Fragen. Eine erhöhte Verlagerung des Güterverkehrs von Wasser könnte dazu beitragen, diese Situation zu lindern. In 2007 zog fast 3.4 Millionen Tonnen auf Wasserbasis Fracht, vor allem Massengüter, über den Hafen von Stockton über die Stockton Deepwater Ship Channel und San Joaquin River, unterstreicht die potenzielle Kapazität dieser Wasserstraße System. Ein Beispiel für das Potenzial für wässrige Güterbewegungen entlang dieses Korridors ist eine vorgeschlagene Marine Highway-Service zwischen den Häfen von Oakland, Stockton und West Sacramento. Vollständig umgesetzt, könnte es zu beseitigen 180,000 Lkw-Fahrten von der I-580, I-80 und I-205 jährlich sparen rund 7 Millionen Liter Kraftstoff und reduziert Emissionen in die Luft in den Prozess.

M-84: Das Columbia Valley

Sponsor

Port of Portland, Oregon

Unterstützer

Pacific Northwest Waterways Ass.

Landside Corridor Serviert

Interstate-84

Corridor Beschreibung

Die M-84 Corridor umfasst die Columbia und Snake Rivers, den Anschluss handelsüblicher Fahrrinnen, Häfen und Häfen. Es überspannt Oregon und Idaho von Astoria, OR nach Lewiston, ID. Es verbindet sich mit dem M-5 Corridor in Astoria, OR.

Attributes

I-84, die die Columbia River Parallelen in Oregon, hat als Fracht-LKW-Engpass wurde durch das US Department of Transportation identifiziert, die sich in bis zu 750,000 Lkw-Stunden Verspätung jährlich. Dies wird auch durch die Abteilung zu einem Raum der großen Bahn Staus festgestellt. Container aus den Häfen von Seattle, Tacoma und Portland derzeit per Lkw zu bewegen auf der I-84 (und I-5) und 55 Prozent der Region Container-Markt bewegt sich durch Puget Sound, was zusätzliche Lkw-und Güterverkehr auf der Schiene zwischen diesen Ports.

Verstärkte Nutzung des Wassers Route parallel I-84 können dazu beitragen, Landseite Staus reduzieren Emissionen in die Luft und Energie zu sparen. Ein Container-on-Kahn Dienst derzeit fordern kleinere Häfen entlang der Columbia und Snake Rivers ist ein Beispiel des Korridors Potenzial. Eine vorgeschlagene wöchentlichen Dienst zwischen den Häfen von Umatilla, Portland, Seattle und Tacoma könnte auch Platz für den Gegenwert von 36,000 Lastwagen, die die I-5 Landseite Korridor reisen jedes Jahr. Eine Operation wie diese könnten sowohl landwirtschaftliche Exporteure und Importeure in der Pacific Northwest Versand dienen Fernen Osten präsent.

ISN: West Coast

The Edge: West Coast


THE WEST COAST EDGE

ISN

East Coast Corridor

Gulf Coast Corridor

Mississippi Corridor

Ohio Mid-America Corridor

West Coast Corridor

M-5: The West Coast

Sponsor

West Coast Corridor Coalition

Supporters

Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, California Marine Affairs and Navigation Conference, Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation, and Conservation District / Port of Humboldt Bay, Port of Skagit County, WA, Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Town of La Conner, WA, and Swinomish Tribal Community.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-5

Corridor Description

The M-5 Corridor includes the Pacific Ocean coastal waters, connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors from San Diego, CA to the US-Canada border north of Seattle, WA. It spans Washington, Oregon and California along the West Coast. It connects to the M-84 Corridor at Astoria, OR,
and the M-580 Connector at Oakland, CA.

Attributes

This corridor contains several areas identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having
considerable annual truck hours of delay, most notably in the urban areas of California, Portland, OR,
and Seattle, WA. The Department reports that Southern California and the Pacific Northwest are also plagued with freight rail congestion. Total domestic trade movements between the three States along the I-5 Corridor are expected to grow from 145 million tons per year to 366 million tons by 2030,
exacerbating existing challenges. Navigable coastal waters that parallel the entire I-5 Corridor, combined with numerous deep and safe rivers, bays, and ports, can help to accommodate some of this expected increase in traffic, reducing landside travel delays and greenhouse gas emissions
along this essential freight corridor.

M-580: The Sacramento Valley

Sponsor

Port of Stockton, California

Supporters

Bay Area Air Quality Management District, San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District, Port of Oakland, and the Port of West Sacramento. Landside Corridor Served: Interstate-580 Corridor Description: The M-580 Corridor includes the San Joaquin River, Sacramento River, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors in Central California from Sacramento, CA to Oakland. It connects to the M-5 Corridor at Oakland.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-580

Corridor Description

The M-580 Corridor includes the San Joaquin River, Sacramento River, and connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors in Central California from Sacramento, CA to Oakland. It connects to the M-5 Corridor at Oakland.

Attributes

I-580 is one of the most congested highways in the nation, and has been identified by the U.S. Department of Transportation as having significant annual truck hours of delay. Approximately 25 percent of the Port of Oakland’s volume travels to and from the San Joaquin Valley of California, an area already recognized for some of the country’s worst air pollution. By 2020, the Port of Oakland’s volume is expected to increase by 65 percent, further exacerbating the Valley’s congestion and air quality issues. An increased movement of freight by water could help to relieve this situation. In 2007, nearly 3.4 million tons of waterborne cargo, mainly bulk goods, moved through the Port of Stockton via the Stockton Deepwater Ship Channel and San Joaquin River, underscoring the potential capacity of this waterway system. One example of the potential for waterborne freight movements along this corridor is a proposed marine highway service between the Ports of Oakland, Stockton, and West Sacramento. Fully implemented, it could eliminate 180,000 truck trips from I-580, I-80, and I-205 annually, saving approximately 7 million gallons of fuel and reducing air emissions in the process.

M-84: The Columbia Valley

Sponsor

Port of Portland, Oregon

Supporters

Pacific Northwest Waterways Ass.

Landside Corridor Served

Interstate-84

Corridor Description

The M-84 Corridor includes the Columbia and Snake Rivers, connecting commercial navigation channels, ports, and harbors. It spans Oregon and Idaho from Astoria, OR to Lewiston, ID. It connects to the M-5 Corridor in Astoria, OR.

Attributes

I-84, which parallels the Columbia River in Oregon, has been identified as a freight truck bottleneck by the U.S. Department of Transportation, resulting in up to 750,000 truck hours of delay annually. This is also noted by the Department as an area of major rail congestion. Containers from the Ports of Seattle, Tacoma, and Portland currently move by truck on I-84 (and I-5), and 55 percent of the region’s container market moves through Puget Sound, causing additional truck and rail freight traffic between these ports.

Increasing the use of the water route paralleling I-84 can help mitigate landside congestion, reduce air emissions, and conserve energy. A container-on-barge service currently calling on smaller ports along the Columbia and Snake Rivers is one example of the corridor’s potential. A proposed weekly service between the Ports of Umatilla, Portland, Seattle, and Tacoma could also accommodate the equivalent of 36,000 trucks that travel the I-5 landside corridor each year. An operation like this could serve both agricultural exporters and importers in the Pacific Northwest shipping to Far East markets.